Meet The MAMA 2014 Winners As Nigerian Stars Win Big

Onyeka Ibeanusi  | Monday, 9 June 2014 | 827 Total Views


Nigerian stars won the awards at the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards bagging the most awards too. The event which held at the International Convention Centre, Durban on Saturday, June 7, 2014 saw Nigeria win a total of six awards dominating the winners list which fielded 16 categories. 

Davido was the biggest winner of the night, taking home the ‘Best Male’ and coveted ‘Artiste of the Year’ awards. The ‘Aye’ singer also topped it off with an energetic performance. Other Nigerian winners include Tiwa Savage (Best Female), Flavour (Best Live Peformer) and Clarence Peters who also won two awards – ‘Best Video’ and ‘Transform Today by Absolut’.

Best Male 

Anselmo Ralph (Angola) 
Davido (Nigeria) – Winner 
Diamond (Tanzania) Donald (South Africa) 
Wizkid (Nigeria) 

Best Female 
Arielle T (Gabon) 
Chidinma (Nigeria) 
DJ C’ndo (South Africa) 
Efya (Ghana) 
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) - Winner 

Best Group 
Big Nuz (South Africa) 
Mafikizolo (South Africa) - Winner 
Mi Casa (South Africa) 
P Square (Nigeria) 
Sauti Sol (Kenya) 

Best New Act 
Burna Boy (Nigeria) 
Heavy K (South Africa) 
Phyno (Nigeria) 
Stanley Enow (Cameroon) - Winner 
Uhuru (South Africa) 

Best Live Act 
2face (Nigeria) 
Fally Ipupa (DRC) 
Flavour (Nigeria) - Winner 
Dr Malinga (South Africa) 
Zakes Bantwini (South Africa) 

Best Collaboration 
Amani ft Radio and Weasel – ‘Kiboko Changu’ (Kenya/Uganda) 
Diamond feat Davido – ‘Number One’ (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria) 
Mafikizolo feat May D – ‘Happiness’ (South Africa/Nigeria) 
R2bees feat Wizkid – ‘Slow Down’ (Ghana/Nigeria) 
Uhuru feat DJ Buckz, Oskido, Professor, Yuri Da Cunha – ‘Y-tjukutja’ (South Africa/Angola) - Winner 

Artist of the Year 
Davido (Nigeria) - Winner 
Mafikizolo (South Africa) 
Mi Casa (South Africa) 
P Square (Nigeria) 
Uhuru (South Africa) 

Song of the Year 
Davido- ‘Skelewu’ (Nigeria) 
DJ Clock feat Beatenberg – ‘Pluto’ (Remember Me) (South Africa) 
DJ Ganyani feat FB – ‘Xigubu’ (South Africa) 
DJ Kent feat The Arrows –‘Spin My World Around’ (South Africa) 
Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy – ‘Surulere’ (Nigeria) 
KCee – ‘Limpopo’ (Nigeria) Mafikizolo feat Uhuru ‘Khona’ (South Africa) - Winner Mi Casa- ‘Jika’ (South Africa) P Square – ‘Personally’ (Nigeria) 
Yuri Da Cunha -‘Atchu Tchu Tcha’ (Angola) 

Best Hip Hop 
AKA (South Africa) 
Ice Prince (Nigeria) 
Khuli Chana (South Africa) 
Olamide (Nigeria) 
Sarkodie (Ghana) - Winner

Winner Best Video 
Clarence Peters – (‘Run my race’ - Burna Boy) (Nigeria) - Winner 

Best Pop 
Danny K (South Africa) 
Fuse ODG (Ghana) 
Goldfish (South Africa) - Winner 
LCNVL (South Africa) 
Mathew Mole (South Africa) 

Best Alternative 
Gangs of Ballet (South Africa) - Winner 
Michael Loman (South Africa) 
Nakhane Toure (South Africa) 
Parlotones (South Africa) 
Shortstraw (South Africa) 

Best Francophone 
Arielle T (Gabon) 
Espoir 2000 (Ivory Coast) 
Ferre Gola (DRC) Toofan (Togo) - Winner 
Youssoupha (Congo) 

Best Lusophone 
Anselmo Ralph (Angola) - Winner 
JD (Angola) Lizha James (Mozambique) 
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde) 
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola) 

Personality of the Year Chimamanda Adiche (Nigeria) 
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde (Nigeria) 
Trevor Noah (South Africa) 
Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya) - Winner 
Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire) 

Transform Today by Absolut 
Anisa Mpungwe (Tanzania) 
Clarence Peters (Nigeria) - Winner 
I See a Different You (South Africa) 
Leti Arts (Ghana) 
Rasty (South Africa)