New Michael Jackson album to be released on May 13

Onyeka Ibeanusi  | Tuesday, 1 April 2014 | 1524 Total Views

Michael Jackson

Epic Record announced yesterday that a new Michael Jackson album will be released on May 13, 2014. This is a heart warming news for fans of the late king of pop around the world.

The posthumous album is titled Xscape and will feature previously recorded but unreleased songs by the pop star.

Epic Records CEO L.A. Reid was given "unlimited access" to four decades of Jackson's material, which the iconic singer had completed vocals on, according to a statement from the label and the Estate of Michael Jackson.

Reid curated a "final list of recordings" and employed producers such as Timbaland, Stargatem Jerome Harmon and Rodney Jerkins to "retool" the music. They have promised to retain "Jackson's essence and integrity" in the new songs.